Using a second symbol on a current chart

A forum for all EdgeRater users

Moderator: Chris White

Post Reply
henry1224
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:04 pm

Using a second symbol on a current chart

Post by henry1224 »

I'm trying to get this to plot on top of a second chart

under the parameters tab

Sym symbol SPY 0 0

Pds double 15 2 100


SCl:=Fml(Sym,'C');
x:=MA(SCl,pds);

Entry:=If(Cross(SCl , x * 1.04),1,0),ColorGreen;

Exit:=If(Cross(x * .96 , SCl),-1,0),ColorRed;
System:Entry-Exit,Colorstick;


This compiles correctly but does not plot
Chris White
Posts: 201
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:21 pm

Re: Using a second symbol on a current chart

Post by Chris White »

The code compiles as you said but it does output the System line (which has values between 0 and 1). Try adding it to a new lower chart area to see that.

If you want other lines to output you need to replace the := with =

Chris.
henry1224
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:04 pm

Re: Using a second symbol on a current chart

Post by henry1224 »

Chris , I tried to plot this indicator in it's own lower chart area on Aligent and I could not get it to plot
Chris White
Posts: 201
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:21 pm

Re: Using a second symbol on a current chart

Post by Chris White »

One possible reason is that you don't have the second symbol in your current symbol list. Could that be the case?
henry1224
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:04 pm

Re: Using a second symbol on a current chart

Post by henry1224 »

Chris, I tried this formula on a chart of the nasdaq with the spx

I get the following error message Errors in Formula HK_MTF($SPX,15) Workbook view has been disposed.System invalid operation exception workbook view has been disposed at spreadsheet gear windows. Forms.workbook view Get_Check active workbook set() at spreadsheet gear windows. forms Workbook View Get Lock() at edgerater.edge.scripting data provider. era active workbook data manager. Get data(String symbol.int 32 count)
Chris White
Posts: 201
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:21 pm

Re: Using a second symbol on a current chart

Post by Chris White »

I haven't been able to reproduce the error you mentioned. If you can reproduce, please post the exact steps.

BTW, the symbol for $SPX on Yahoo is ^GSPC
henry1224
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:04 pm

Re: Using a second symbol on a current chart

Post by henry1224 »

Chris, I had to redo the parameter tabs, when I tried to put in the symbol spx it would revert back to spy.
I redid the parameter tab to $SPX and now it works
Post Reply