Wishlist for new features in Edgerater

A forum for all EdgeRater users

Moderator: Chris White

Post Reply
henry1224
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:04 pm

Wishlist for new features in Edgerater

Post by henry1224 »

I would like to see trendlines on the price chart and indicators
henry1224
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:04 pm

A Previous indicator or value

Post by henry1224 »

Here is the code for the Vidya MA

VMA = (α * VI * Close) + ((1 – ( α * VI )) * VMA[1])
Where:
α = 2 / (N + 1)
VI = Users choice of a measure of volatility or trend strength.
N = User selected constant smoothing period.


input sigmaperiod = 10;
input length = 20;

inc:= if(C > Ref(C,1) , C - Ref(C,1),0);
dec:= if(ref(C,1) > C , Ref(C,1)- C, 0);
sumInc:= sum(inc, length);
sumDec:= sum(dec, length);
B:=if(sumInc + sumDec == 0 , 0 , (sumInc - sumDec) / (sumInc + sumDec) * 100);
sigmaConstant:= 2/(sigmaperiod+1);
absCMO:= abs(B/100);
Vidya:(sigmaConstant*absCMO*close)+((1-(sigmaConstant*absCMO))*Ref(Vidya,1)),Width2,ColorBlack;


In the last line of code , I get an error message because I can't get the previous value of the indicator ref(Vidya,1) won't work

Vidya:(sigmaConstant*absCMO*close)+((1-(sigmaConstant*absCMO))*Prev),Width2,ColorBlack;


Prev would give me the value of the indicator from the previous bar!
henry1224
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:04 pm

Re: Wishlist for new features in Edgerater

Post by henry1224 »

Here is a feature that everybody would like. The ability to scroll a chart verticaly! Yes Verticaly, why? I could plot 3 or 4 indicators above the price and also plot 3 or 4 indicators below the price. now when I scroll the price chart, the 4 indicator above or below will disappear and then reappear as I scroll up or down
Chris White
Posts: 201
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:21 pm

Re: Wishlist for new features in Edgerater

Post by Chris White »

You might be able to achieve this by using the auto-zoom/manual zoom of the y-axis. To activate manual zoom, place your mouse cursor in the right hand vertical axis and drag the scale. Once activated the y-axis will remain fixed at the set level. To re-activate auto-zoom, double-click in the vertical axis area.
henry1224
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:04 pm

Re: Wishlist for new features in Edgerater

Post by henry1224 »

Thanks for the suggestion, but I was looking for something different. I was looking to keep the Main chart area the same and have 3 indicators above the price and also have 3 indicators below for a total of 7 chart areas. Now if I could scroll up or down , I would like to show 4 chart areas at a time.

I also can plot indicators on top of other indicators and scale their value on the left, but I would prefer to keep my chart neat.

I have also found a way to output the values of 10 different lengths of an indicator into 1 chart area IE: Oracle Bands
Chris White
Posts: 201
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:21 pm

Re: Wishlist for new features in Edgerater

Post by Chris White »

Ahh, I see.

Another suggestion then would be to save the Chart Layout 4 different times with the different chart areas in view. Then keep the Chart Layout panel permanently visible (turn off auto-hide) and scroll through that to show the desired chart areas.
henry1224
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:04 pm

Re: Wishlist for new features in Edgerater

Post by henry1224 »

I guess that that would work!

Thanks Chris
henry1224
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:04 pm

Re: Wishlist for new features in Edgerater

Post by henry1224 »

I'm trying to create the LaGuerre RSI from this site https://theotrade.com/rsi/


LaGuerre RSI

here is the code in Easy language

Inputs: Price((H+L)/2),
gamma(.8);

Vars: L0(0),
L1(0),
L2(0),
L3(0),
Filt(0)
FIR(0);

L0 = (1 - gamma)*Price + gamma*L0[1];
L1 = -gamma*L0 + L0[1] + gamma*L1[1];
L2 = -gamma*L1 + L1[1] + gamma*L2[1];
L3 = -gamma*L2 + L2[1] + gamma*L3[1];

Filt = (L0 + 2*L1 + 2*L2 + L3) / 6;
FIR = (Price + 2*Price[1] + 2*Price[2] + Price[3]) / 6;

Plot1(Filt, "Filt");
Plot2(FIR, "FIR");


The[1] is for the Ref() function. The error code comes into play for each of the last bits of code in L0, L1, L2, L3

If edgerater could have a Prev function to give the previous value of the current variable it could be coded into edgerater as

L0 = (1 - gamma)*Price + gamma*Prev;
L1 = -gamma*L0 + L0[1] + gamma*Prev;
L2 = -gamma*L1 + L1[1] + gamma*Prev;
L3 = -gamma*L2 + L2[1] + gamma*Prev


;
Post Reply